Source recommendations

barmar46

I'm new to head case so take it easy on me folks. I've read a bunch of posts and it seems like a great place to call home! I think I'm going to buy the TTVKJ/Millet 307A tomorrow having never heard it but having done my homework and knowing that I have Todd's permission to take a 30 day trial and his guarantee that there's no chance I'll return it. I'm looking for something full, involving, resolving well so many of the things said already in this thread. I primarily listen to accousitc music emphasizing voice and guitar (Did someone mention Sam Phillips and "Fan Dance?" That's a perfect example!) and jazz, and I want to experience all the life in the music as well as hear it. I don't do well with harsh or brittle high end or thumbing and muddy base. The best I've done so far is my balanced K701s recabled by Alex at APS but through my Headroom bal amp/dac it still sounds somewhat sterile and thin. I thought about going for the BHSE and the Omega MKII but am afraid of the dark side and besides I really like the versatility of the 307A dynamic can possibilities. I've never had a tube amp before and I also like leaning analog particularly in Pete's handmade direction also knowing I can count on reasonable timelines to get my new amp or to rely on it being repaired. So am I making a compeling case to going all out tomorrow or...am I missing something?

And...I'm not really clear on sources. Todd recommends the Meridian G08 which comes up on Audiogon in the $2000+ range often enough. But one of my more reliable sources (on another heaphone "cable network") adviced me against it saying there have been mechanical problems and suggested "if I go Meridian at all I should look at the more reliable 508.24. I see that the well respected Cambridge 840c has been matched with the 307A and I didn't hear any complaints (Not to mention it's well over a $1000 cheaper than G08 and I'm really maxed out as it is!). So...what do you all recommend?