Medical School Advice

jinp6301

Its my junior year of college and I've been thinking of either grad school for biomedical engineering (which is what my major is right now) or medical school. In terms of requirements, I'm pretty set in either direction, but I need to study for the MCATs if I decide to apply for med school. I'm pretty set for GREs. I'm not fantastic in bio but I'm decent enough to scrounge a B+ in it :P

So if youve been to med school (ojnihs, deepak) and can give me some advice, or if you know any awesome doctor jokes, please post them :)

i guess the first order of business is to figure out if you really, really want to go to medical school or not. it's definitely a long haul, and i don't want you to jump head first into something unless you're sure that you want to do it. i had a friend who went through med school and was on his last year of residency before dropping out because he realized he didn't want to do it. it's an awful waste of time if you aren't committed to it.

From looking at MCAT books, I'm pretty much set for everything except the bio part.

that's a great sign, although i found that concrete knowledge wasn't everything that you need on the MCAT. that test is a tricky bitch just waiting to pounce on you. my suggestion is to take as many practice tests as you can take, that helped me way more than any of those books did.

I did a six year accelerated program out of high school so most of my info won't be that relevant. But my sister is applying this year and I talk to her quite a bit.

I suppose key pieces of info:

AAMC calculates your GPA in two parts:

-science GPA

-regular GPA